Minimum wage goes up Jan. 1

Gov. Dannel P. Malloy, in a press release, reminded residents that Connecticut’s minimum wage is scheduled to increase effective Jan. 1, 2015 from the current rate of $8.70 an hour to $9.15 per hour.

The increase is the result of a new law Malloy signed earlier this year that requires a series of modest increases through 2017. Following this week’s increase, there are two more scheduled under the adopted law: it will rise to $9.60 on Jan. 1, 2016, and then to $10.10 on Jan. 1, 2017.

“Connecticut was the first state in the nation to commit to increasing the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour because we want to make sure that no one who works full time lives in poverty,” Malloy said in a press release. “This latest increase is just one more part of a phased-in series of gradual increases for hard-working men and women, many of whom are supporting their families and who will put this increase directly into Connecticut’s economy.”

Lt. Governor Nancy Wyman said in a press release, “For the 125,000 Connecticut women who earn at or just above the minimum wage, this increase is critical — it will help support families and improve women’s future economic security. I applaud Governor Malloy and the legislature for their leadership on this issue.  Raising the minimum wage will ensure fewer low-wage workers live in poverty and it will improve the state’s economic health.”

“Our state is taking the right step in its efforts to provide a better wage for lower-income workers,” Connecticut Labor Commissioner Sharon M. Palmer said in the release from the governor’s office. “This phased-in increase will help families support themselves, and in turn will help grow Connecticut’s economy.”

Under Section 31-60 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the Connecticut minimum wage rates for service employees, specifically restaurant waitpersons or bartenders, are determined by using a formula that takes tip deductions into account.  The rates can be found on the Connecticut Department of Labor’s Web site at www.ct.gov/dol or by contacting the Labor Department’s Division of Wage and Workplace Standards at (860)263-6790.

 

Leave a Reply