Election Results Are In: Cockayne re-elected mayor; Dems take over Board of Ed


After a close race against Democratic candidate Ellen Zoppo-Sassu, Republican incumbent Ken Cockayne has been re-elected as the Mayor of Bristol.

According to unofficial results from the Registrar of Voters office, Cockayne received a total of 6,084 votes, just 128 votes more than Zoppo, who previously served four non-consecutive terms on the City Council.

The City Council is evenly split among both parties in each district. In District 1, Democratic incumbent Calvin Brown was re-elected with a total of 2,368 votes. Newcomer Republican Tony D’Amato was elected to the 1st District with a total of 2,334 votes.

In District 2, Democrat Dave Preleski won with a total of 2340 votes and Republican Jodi Zils Gagne gained a seat on the Council with a total of 2088 votes. In District 3, Democratic incumbent Mary Fortier was elected with a total of 1785 votes, along with Republican candidate Dave Mills, who received a total of 1748 votes.

Meanwhile, Bristol Democrats won six out of the nine seats on the Board of Education. All six Democratic candidates were elected to the board, including incumbents Tom O’Brien, Karen Hintz, Chris Wilson and Karen Vibert, as well as newcomers Tina Taylor and Joe Grabowski. Republican incumbent Jennifer Dube won a seat on the board, as well as newcomers David Scott Jr. and Jeff Caggiano.


All of these numbers were provided by the Bristol Registrar of Voters, and are preliminary numbers deemed unofficial until they are approved by the state. Stayed tuned for a more details on this year’s election in next week’s issue of the Bristol Observer.