Southington Democrats elect new party leaders

Robert M. Berkmoes Chairperson, Southington Democratic Town Committee

Robert M. Berkmoes
Chairperson, Southington Democratic Town Committee


The Southington Democratic Town Committee (SDTC) is under new leadership.

Executive Committee elections for the Democrats took place on March 3, welcoming new Chairman Bob Berkmoes and Vice Chairperson Elaine Bedard as party leaders.

Berkmoes has served as an elected member of the Board of Water Commissioners since 2001, and has previously served as vice chair of the SDTC.

The life-long Southington resident has served on several other town boards and committees. He is a former chair of the Democratic Nominating Committee, the Southington Open Space and Land Acquisition Committee, and the Southington Assessment Board of Appeals. He also served as a co-chair of the Finance Committee and a commissioner for the Board of Fire Commissioners from 2008 to 2010.

“Our goal is to promote the ideal that all Southington residents should work for the common good of our community,” said Berkmoes in his chairman’s message on the SDTC website. “As Democrats, we will work tirelessly to understand and meet needs with balance and foresight.”

The chairman encouraged town Democrats to become involved in the committee and said he plans to use open lines of communication to help residents become more involved in the issues facing their community.

Outside of Southington, Berkmoes is the executive vice president of the James T Kay Company Meriden Mechanical Contractors, where he has worked for over 40 years. He is also the vice president of the Mechanical Contractors Association of Connecticut, where he is a member of the executive board, the labor management committee, and the negotiating committee.

Berkmoes has served as the co-chair of the local 777 Joint Apprenticeship Committee, a national director of the General Contractors of America, and vice president of the Mechanical Contractors Association.

He also served as president of the Associated General Contractors of America, where he served on committees for education, diversity, budget, and membership.

On March 3, the SDTC also elected Bedard as vice chair. She previously served as chair of the SDTC.

Completing the executive committee are David Della Vecchia as treasurer, and Zaya Oshana as secretary.

The committee members posted a message on their website, thanking former Chairman Ed Rosenblatt and former Vice Chair Rebecca Davis for their two years of service.

Rosenblatt said he wishes Berkmoes the best of luck in his new role.

“We had started taking the party in a new direction,” said Rosenblatt. “Hopefully things will be positive with the new leadership as well.”

Leave a Reply