Eugene Millerick to be honored on Plainville’s Memorial Wall of Honor

The Plainville Board of Education and the Plainville Community Schools’ Naming Committee will hold an induction ceremony on Monday, April 21 at PlainvilleHigh School for the Memorial Wall of Honor, according to Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Jeffrey Kitching via a press release.

The ceremony, honoring inductee in memoriam of Eugene Millerick will be held at the Memorial Wall of Honor in the east corridor outside of the PlainvilleHigh School pool. The ceremony will take place at 6 p.m, with a reception following immediately after in the PlainvilleHigh School cafeteria.

Millerick served as a member of the Plainville Board of Education for 12 years, also serving as chair during his tenure on the board. In 1986, he was elected to the first of four, two year terms in the Connecticut House of Representatives, representing the 22nd district, which at that time included Southington. Millerick also was a former chairman of the Plainville Economic Development Commission, member of the Plainville Sewer Commission, Plainville Historical Society, and Plainville Knights of Columbus, and was active in the United Way of West Central Connecticut campaigns in Plainville and Bristol. He is a former president and long-time member of the Plainville Rotary Club, and was a Paul Harris Fellow for the organization. 

The Memorial Wall of Honor is a permanent tribute to recognize local individuals for their service to the educational community. The memorial was established by the Plainville Community Schools’ Naming Committee, which includes chairperson Lorri Goldsmith, William Petit Sr., Steve Martino, Lynn Davis, Kathy Pugliese, Becky Tyrrell, and Ex-Officio members Andrea Saunders, Jeffrey Kitching, and Steven LePage.

The Memorial Wall of Honor Induction Ceremony event is open to the public.

Leave a Reply